Pecan-crusted Goat Cheese Log with Bourbon Peaches

True confession: I have not made this dish yet. But it’s only because I can’t get out of my house to acquire the ingredients. It beckons to me, as I love goat cheese appetizers that have a sweet note to them. And we still have so many canned peaches downstairs from last summer, that I need to be using them up or we will still have them when the 2011 peach season is upon us!

This photo is a rough approximation of what the appetizer’s presentation could look like. But if it were my table, the slices of cheese and peaches would be piled MUCH higher on the plate! I want people to EAT! But I think the baby greens garnish is a nice touch.

I will swap out this photo with the real thing as soon as I have cooked up a version for my loved ones:)

Yield:6 servings

//

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup bourbon
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3 dried or canned peach halves (about 2 ounces), coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup toasted pecans
  • 2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning
  • 1 medium log fresh goat cheese (about 11 ounces)

Directions

Warm the bourbon and water in a small saucepan, add the peaches, and set aside until plump, about 15 minutes.

Put the toasted pecans and Cajun seasoning in a mini chopper and pulse until the nuts are finely ground but not pasty. Spread the nut mixture on a large plate. Roll the goat cheese in the mixture, pressing firmly to coat the whole log generously.

Slice the cheese into rounds and arrange on a platter. Top with the chopped peaches and juices.

Thanks, Food Network!

Leave a Reply

